Patriot Memory Rebate Sham

I ordered some 2ea Patriot PSD1G400 Memory Chips (RAM) for my Computer from Newegg. I ordered this Memory Over other manufacturer’s Memory, because of a $10 rebate that They were offering which would make the Patriot Memory cheaper than some of the other Manufacturer’s. What a Sham. First off let me explain. I live in a small town in Nevada. We do not have mail service to our homes and have to use a Post Office Box at the post office. The Post office will not deliver mail to our homes and any mail that does not have a PO Box will be returned to sender. The Rebate form that I got states:

1. they will not send the rebate check to a P O Box.
2. That the UPC Code has to accompany the rebate form. (this is standard practice)
3. The UPC code is a sticker on the Memory chip that states: (Warranty is Void if Removed)

What a Sham. I won’t be buying anymore Patriot Memory. I find that most rebates are not worth the trouble and postage to mail them in. I normally do not buy a product that has a rebate for the above reasons. Most manufacturer’s that I have dealt with in regards rebates, make it as difficult as possible so they don’t have to pay. I do not fault Newegg because they are not the ones offering the rebate, and their policy is that you deal with the manufacturer only and not them.

I feel that a law needs to be passed stating that all rebates have to be paid at the time of sale like instant rebates or else Like Staples Easyrebate done on line. The retail stores could force the manufactuer to honor rebates without all of hassle for the customer trying to collect the rebate. Beware if you have a PO Box or buy Patriot Memory.
Mel

About Mel

Retired PC Consultant, Education Certificate Novel Networking installation and configuration. PC Repair Configuration and Networking. Commercial Pilot, Avid RVer. Enjoy Traveling with my Wife in our Travel Trailer. South in the winter Az, Texas, and summers in Utah
This entry was posted in News, Rant and Rave and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

