Ubuntu 10.04 Release 1st Impressions It’s Not Ready!

After a couple of Beta’s that did not work for me on my 4 year old Compaq Computer. I was glad that The release of Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx finally arrived. I managed to get on a fast torrent and Downloaded it in less than 35 minutes. I checked the MD5Sum and burned the ISO to a CD. I downloaded the i386 version because I have one computer, a toshiba laptop that does not have a AMD 64 cpu. With great anticipation I put it in the CD drive of my


plain Jane Compaq Presario Desktop computer. It is model SR2039X with 2 GB of Ram and it has a built in Nvidia 6150 graphics card. My monitor is a Vizio 26 inch digital HDtv with a VGA port. this setup works flawlessly with Ubuntu 9.10. Anyway back to the story. I booted up with the CD and got a blank screen. I rebooted again and using the F1 key got a help menu read all of the info and rebooted again everything appeared to go OK Except my monitor kept turning off and saying no signal, then it would come back on but nothing but a blank screen I heard the sound in the speakers as it booted into the final phase. Then nothing but a blank screen. WHat is going on? I rebooted again using noapic and tried noacpi. I rebooted several times trying different combinations. Still the same thing, It would boot up and I know all was working except the graphics the screen is blank except for the 1st puple screen that you get when it first boots up.

Needless to say I am thoughly discusted with this latest version of Ubuntu. It was a waste of time downloading it and 2 of the Beta’s before this release.. If it won’t work on a everyday Plain Jane Compaq Computer, Then it is not ready for the masses. The only consulation is the fact that it does work on my Toshiba laptop with Intel prcessor and ATI graphics card. I run Ubuntu on all of my computers and have never before had this kind of problem. I have been a avid fan of Ubuntu, But am starting to have my doubts about it and the feasability of running it. Until Canonical gets their act together I will be looking again at Suse which I ran almost from its inception until version 10.1. Maybe I will try Fedora or even Windows 7. Guess I will try a few more things to see if I can get it going on my Compaqs, if not then it may be time to look seriously at something else.
Mel

Powered by ScribeFire.
About Mel

Retired PC Consultant, Education Certificate Novel Networking installation and configuration. PC Repair Configuration and Networking. Commercial Pilot, Avid RVer. Enjoy Traveling with my Wife in our Travel Trailer. South in the winter Az, Texas, and summers in Utah
This entry was posted in Rant and Rave, ubuntu and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

