Knowledgeable Help at Best Buy a Joke

Went shopping today For a UPS Unit (uninteruptable Power Supply) (Battery Backup). I stopped at the local Best Buy and at the door, I asked a young man (best buy employee) where the UPS Units were located. He had a blank look on his face and I knew he did not know what I was talking about, so I said you know a Battery Backup for my Computer. He still didn’t know so I
asked another employee a couple of isles inside the store. He said I don’t think we have any of those. So I went a little deeper into the store and asked another Best Buy Salesman where the Battery Backup (UPS Units) for computers were located. He was the 3rd one who did not know what I was talking about. He said well if we have anything like that it must be in the computer section. I said thanks and walked back to the Computer section. While looking a young female employee walked up and asked it she could help me. I said yes I am looking for a UPS Unit for my computer. She said UPS is down the street a couple of blocks. I said no no I want a Battery Backup for my computer. She took me over and showed me a Extension cord. I almost fell over laughing so hard. I finally found a whole shelf with several Units, but they were to small for my needs. All 4 of the Employees (sales People) that I asked at Best Buy were Young people in their 20’s and should have been knowledgeable enough to know what a battery backup or UPS unit for a computer is. Alas that was not the case. I walked out of the store shacking my head and wondering why Best Buy does not train their people better if at all. I drove over to Staples and the Sales people there knew what I wanted and took me right to where they were.

About Mel

Retired PC Consultant, Education Certificate Novel Networking installation and configuration. PC Repair Configuration and Networking. Commercial Pilot, Avid RVer. Enjoy Traveling with my Wife in our Travel Trailer. South in the winter Az, Texas, and summers in Utah
This entry was posted in Computers, News, Rant and Rave and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Knowledgeable Help at Best Buy a Joke

  1. Anonymous says:

    Well, give 'em a break. They're just high school/college kids trying to make a few extra bucks for sodas and books. It would be counter productive and cost prohibitive to teach all their high turnover young employees everything about products that they are constantly getting and replacing with newer products. I always do my research ahead of time because bestbuy.com has their inventory on their web page. You're right that the employees probably should be trained better in looking up products on the store computers instead of relying on their knowledge of the store.You were shacking your head? Did you mean shaking?

  2. Mel says:

    Sorry I meant shaking. I still think they should have known what a UPS Unit was. I have grand children 5 to 21 years old and they know, or at least find out. Most young people know computers and computer lingo pretty well unless of course they are like so many that can hardly read, Can't count change Much less add, subtract, multiply, or divide. The schools just are not teaching kids now days. It is a sad state of affairs. Anyway that is another story.

Leave a Reply

