No More Dual Boot For Me

As the title says “No More Dual Boot for Me”. You are probably wondering what I mean by that. Well I was tired of having problems with Dual booting my Main computer with Windows 7 and Ubuntu Linux. as well as a few other flavors of Linux and BSD. Guess I could of said Multi Booting. Not only was it a hassel to shut down the computer and reboot into a different OS only to find I needed something from one of the other OS’s on the computer. The straw to break the camels back so to speak,
was when I installed Ubuntu’s latest Natty 11.04 and the #%^^8 Unity desktop. I like Gnome and I don’t like some of the latest change and that includes Obama and his Motley Crew. But that is another story. I had problems with the installation and almost lost some valuable information stored on my hard drive. What to do? I almost gave up on dual booting anymore, and even installed Suse which I used from their very first versions untill 10.1 at which time I switched to Ubuntu. Well I have Hard Drive Racks and several hard drives so I could always just keep one drive for Windows 7 and use the other drives for whatever other OS I wanted to play with, but I would be faced with the same problem of having to shut down and swap drives and reboot only to find I needed something off of another drive. I could use WUBI, but that would not solve the problem of BSD, Vector, Suse and any other OS I wanted to play with.
Then Out of the blue it hit me, why not try a virtual machine. I had tried several different ones in the past and all of them were lacking. I thought maybe they have improved in the last couple of years. So I tried Oracle’s Vertual Box. I wiped all of the partitions off of my hard drive except for Windows 7 and a storage partition. and created a big 200 Gigabyte Partition for Virtual Box and several vertual partitions within it. Alas Problem solved. It is working great and I can switch to different OS’s without having to reboot. My computer is a pretty powerful one with 4 giga bytes of Ram so the slow down is really not that noticable when I am in 2 OS’s at the same time. Yes Virtual Machine is the way for me to go. On a lesser machine with minimal ram, it would probably be to slow for most and not work very well. But with ram being cheap it is a good way to go to keep from having the hassel of dual booting. It is not for everyone, but it works for me. I just discovered another cool Virtual machine called FAU. Guess I will have to check it out.
Mel

About Mel

Retired PC Consultant, Education Certificate Novel Networking installation and configuration. PC Repair Configuration and Networking. Commercial Pilot, Avid RVer. Enjoy Traveling with my Wife in our Travel Trailer. South in the winter Az, Texas, and summers in Utah
This entry was posted in linux and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

