Dual Boot Windows 8 with Windows 7 Part 2

As I promised in part one, here is my thoughts and excerpts of my experience with Windows 8.  In Part one I described how I installed Windows 8 after downloading the ISO and burning it to a DVD as it is 3.3 Gigabyte in Size. I also talked about how surprised I was at the speed and refresh rate as well as the installation time, which was fast by Windows standards. Over all I was impressed with the installation and the snappy response of the OS. Now after having used it and installed and uninstalled it a number of times, I find that for the Novice or New User that it is not very well suited unless they have a touch screen or are familiar with a Ipad or Ipod use.

I find that it is hard to navigate and find things if you are familiar with say windows 7 or XP. Even as a Power User I had problems finding my way around the OS especially if I had to reconfigure or change something. It would be time consuming and non productive as a desktop for the average user. A lot of the things I was use to using were buried and hidden and not easy to find. I can imagine what a problem this would be for a new user. I feel that Microsoft needs to have a button like the old Start Button on Windows 7 so that you could use it to bring up a menu with everything on it. I think this OS needs some improvement for the desktop users. It may be OK for the Hand held (Ipod-Ipad) User’s or those with touch screens. I could not in it’s present form recommend it for the Desktop User, Keyboard and Mouse User’s. It reminds me of Ubuntu’s Linux Unity Desktop Interface, which caused many user’s to abandon it for something more familiar. Maybe when I get a little more time to play with it I will change my Opinion, after all it is still a Beta in it’s present form. That is why Microsoft has released it to the public to find out what they think about it and to make any changes before the final release. Hopefully they will listen and make some much needed changes before the final release.

About Mel

Retired PC Consultant, Education Certificate Novel Networking installation and configuration. PC Repair Configuration and Networking. Commercial Pilot, Avid RVer. Enjoy Traveling with my Wife in our Travel Trailer. South in the winter Az, Texas, and summers in Utah
This entry was posted in windows 7, windows 8 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

