Back to Using Open Suse 12.1

Back to Using Open Suse
I was a long time user of Suse commercial versions from version 5.4 up to 10.01 at which time I had a major crash and lost everything. 6 months of hard work, customizations and lots of documents and pictures. My backups did not work for the important stuff. I was mad so I switched to Ubuntu until they came out with Unity desktop at which time I switched to Windows 7 and Mint. A few weeks ago while helping a friend find a Linux Distro that would run on a Old Dell Laptop I stumbled across Suse in Distro Watch and decided to give it a try on some of my Computers. I downloaded the 12.2 beta and gave it a whirl.

I liked what I saw and downloaded the full 12.1 (Non Beta) Version and installed it on my Main Computer. I am impressed. It is working great and I am Using it along with Windows 7 until I get use to Running Suse again. I like the way that they have configured the desktop for the Gnome version which I prefer over the KDE desktop. I do miss APT, but am getting use to RPM and Yast which I like. I have to relearn Suse all over again but it is slowly coming back to me. I installed the Cairo Dock and also the Xfce Desktop But Run Cairo with the Gnome desktop which I prefer.
I am having Fun discovering all of the old and some of the new things that I always liked about Suse. I might mention That Mint along with Ubuntu are moving way to fast and are getting slower and slower and more bloated IMHO. They require more computer, graphics and memory to even run, and Mint crawls on even some 4 year old computer Graphic cards and hardware. But that is another story for another article. So far Suse is working for me, and that is what Counts. Different Strokes for Different Folks.
About Mel

Retired PC Consultant, Education Certificate Novel Networking installation and configuration. PC Repair Configuration and Networking. Commercial Pilot, Avid RVer. Enjoy Traveling with my Wife in our Travel Trailer. South in the winter Az, Texas, and summers in Utah
This entry was posted in linux, Suse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

