Comcast, Netgear, Router Problems

Comcast, Netgear, Router Problems
3 weeks of pulling my hair out. I Finally solved my Router Problem, at least for now. 
After trying 2 new Modems and 3 new routers,(I returned all except the Modem and my original Router).
I finally got my router a Netgear WNDR3700v3 working. I still don’t know what caused the problem. 
Maybe someone Reading this can figure out why or what happened. Here is my setup.
 
Main Desktop Computer Hard Wired to Router 
OS Dual Boot Mint Linux and Windows 7.
Motorola SB6121 Modem (Replaced with a Zoom 5341J)
Netgear WNDR3700v3 N600 Dual Band Router
Xfinity Internet (Comcast Cable)
 
Local Lan
Wireless:
Desktop computer in another room windows 7
Samsung Tab2 Android
Laptop Linux Mint
 
3 or 4 weeks ago My main desktop computer started acting up. I was having a hard time connecting 
to the Internet on my main computer running windows 7 . When I did Get connected after resetting 
Modem, Router, and Rebooting the Computer, the connection was very slow and I would sometimes 
loose the connection. I could boot into Linux and everything worked fine. My local Lan always worked,
 and I did not have a problem with it or any of those computers connecting. To the local Lan. The problem 
was windows7 connecting to the internet through the router. Hooked direct to the Modem bypassing the 
router everything worked . Problem kept Getting worse. I could hardly get a Internet connection when I 
booted into windows. No problem with Linux. Sometimes Windows would say No connection but I would 
be connected. other times it would say connected but no Internet. The whole time Linux and the local 
Network (Lan) was OK. Only problem was Windows 7 getting a Internet connection through the Router. 
 
Because of alleged problems with Motorola SB6121 Modems I bought a new Zoom 5341J Modem 
which BTW seems to be faster and no dropped connections. I still had the same problem Connecting to 
Internet when booting into windows 7. I tried everything I could think of even Trying 3 Different new Netgear 
Routers. I got most of the problem solved, see this link in Netgear Forum forum thread 87122  But then my 
Samsung Tab could not connect because I had no way of changing its wireless card DNS. I was about to 
Reflash the router firmware using a DD_WRT Firmware or else Junk the Router. Out of desperation I thought 
I would Reset the Router again to factory spec’s for the upteenth time. This time I used the 30 second Power 
On and Off reset with the reset button depressed, 3 times making sure that all was cleared. Then I changed 
the routers Password and set it to use the computers Mac Address and IPv6. 
 
I then turned on power to the modem and waited for it to cycle, then I turned on the router and waited for it 
to cycle Then I booted up to windows 7. Everything is now back to normal and working like it was before 
all of this started. I do believe that This Router has a problem with windows 7 or maybe Comcast. I do know that several people have had the same problem using windows 7 and their problems started 3 or 4 weeks ago. Maybe a windows 7 update or something with Comcast I really dont know what the problem was. I am just 
glad it is working now.
Mel
About Mel

Retired PC Consultant, Education Certificate Novel Networking installation and configuration. PC Repair Configuration and Networking. Commercial Pilot, Avid RVer. Enjoy Traveling with my Wife in our Travel Trailer. South in the winter Az, Texas, and summers in Utah
This entry was posted in Broadband, Routers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

