Comcast and DNS

Comcast and DNS
Is there a problem with Xfinity (Comcast Internet) and DNS? I find that for most Laptops to access the Internet via my wireless router I have to change the Pri and Sec DNS from auto to manual on the 
Wirless cards in the laptops to  Pri 8.8.8.8 and Sec 8.8.4.4 or else to 
Global DNS  Pri 208.67.222.222 and Sec 208.67.220.220 I own my own Modem a zoom 5341J and a 
stand alone Netgear WNDR3700v3 N600 Dual Band Wireless router.
I have had several different problems in the past month that mysteriously seemed to resolve by themselves. I now strongly suspect that all of my problems were Comcast after trying several new routers and a couple 
of new modems. All of my problems have been connecting to the Internet through the router wired and wireless. 
Since I have no control over the Modem I suspect that Comcast has programmed it so that it causes problems with the router. See my other posts about my other problems which are I hope are resolved except for this 
DNS Thing. ANy thoughts or suggestions?
Mel

About Mel

Retired PC Consultant, Education Certificate Novel Networking installation and configuration. PC Repair Configuration and Networking. Commercial Pilot, Avid RVer. Enjoy Traveling with my Wife in our Travel Trailer. South in the winter Az, Texas, and summers in Utah
This entry was posted in Broadband and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

