Repairing Toshiba P35 dc jack or Bringing old Laptop back to Life

I had a old model Toshiba P35 Laptop with 17 inch screen. I paid a lot of money for it back in 2006, and did not want to throw it away. It was not used much. It has a p-4 CPU and 2 GB Ram. About 3 years ago I started having problems charging the battery and it would die on me in the middle of doing some work. I bought a new charger which did not solve the problem. So I set it aside and used my Toshiba with 15 inch screen. I thought about it over the years and as my old eyes got weaker I thought about resurrecting the Toshiba Laptop with the 17 inch screen. I bought a new battery for it and still no luck. I then found out that the dc jacks on many different laptops Toshiba being the most notorious, had problems charging staying connected cutting out and dead batteries. I went on the Internet looking for a fix.

Here is what I found out. I could buy the dc jack from several vendors with prices ranging from $3.95 to $29 (it pays to shop around.
I then found a couple of places that would do the repairs and furnish the parts for $100, but you had to pay shipping both ways as none were close to me and they wanted $50 for shipping on their end. This would mean about $200 cost to me. I decided to check locally. One company advertised fix any laptop plus parts for $49 So I went there and was informed that they could not do Micro Soldering and would have to send it to their main warehouse. I asked what it would cost and they said $229. I said no thanks and walked out. Went to Best Buy and was told they would only repair it by replacing the motherboard $250 Plus labor. No thanks. I ordered the dc jack and got it in a week.

Fast Forward
I went on the Internet and found a web site called http://www.irisvista.com and got instructions on how to disassemble my Toshiba P35 Laptop. The instructions were very thorough with pictures and caveats. Excellent Site. I then bought a soldering Iron, flux, solder sucker, solder braid or wick. It took about an hour to do the job and I had my computer back. saved big bucks. My total cost was $30 for parts and materials.

Links

http://www.irisvista.com/tech/laptops/ToshibaP35/SatelliteP35_fix_overheating_1.htm  Disassembly Instructions

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z38WsZFmq8E  How to Desolder

http://www.laptopking.com/kingpartdetails.asp?ref=2498&category=dcjack  Laptop DC Jack

http://www.proskit.com/soldering-assy/electronics/desoldering-pump  Desoldering Pump

Desoldering Braid or Wick can be purchased at Radio Shack or most Electronics Stores

About Mel

Retired PC Consultant, Education Certificate Novel Networking installation and configuration. PC Repair Configuration and Networking. Commercial Pilot, Avid RVer. Enjoy Traveling with my Wife in our Travel Trailer. South in the winter Az, Texas, and summers in Utah
This entry was posted in Computers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

