Elive Linux, You have to pay to Install

The Title says it all. I spent a lot of time downloading both the stable version (topaz) 700 MB’s and the latest Beta Version 1.7 GB’s, For me as  far as I am concerned it was a waste of time. I wanted to review it and write a article for my Blog, But after booting the Beta I found out there is no Hard drive install. So I downloaded the stable version and burnt the ISO to a CD. Booted up and started to Install to the hard drive. After making some space and resizing partitions I clicked to install to the root partition that I had made room for, when a menu pops up saying I had to pay for a (install Module) befor I could install. I clicked on the link with a code provided and it took me to the Elive website where you could purchase the install module through PayPal. Guess they never heard of “try before you buy”. I would not be upset if they would have been upfront telling me that you had to pay to install to the hard drive. I downloaded the ISO’s through Distrowatch and nothing was said about paying. I would never pay for a distro befor trying it. So many of them are a jumbled up mess and Junk (won’t work with ATI Radeon Graphic cards. So instead of a good review of Elive I have to give it a poor review.

Mel

About Mel

Retired PC Consultant, Education Certificate Novel Networking installation and configuration. PC Repair Configuration and Networking. Commercial Pilot, Avid RVer. Enjoy Traveling with my Wife in our Travel Trailer. South in the winter Az, Texas, and summers in Utah
This entry was posted in linux, Rant and Rave and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

