Switching HDTV Monitors in Linux Created a problem.

Because my Old Eyes are getting tired, I use a 26 inch HDTV for a monitor. I had been using a 2 year old Sanyo HDTV with a HDMI Cable hooked to my AMD Ati Radeon HD4200 Built in Video Card. The Sanyo has a 720P resolution which means that the max resolution is 1280 X 720 which is fine for streaming movies and playing games or using a Xbox, But when sitting close About 3 feet You can tell the difference between 720P and 1080P and there is the problem of eye strain at the lower resolution. I also have a Vizio 26 inch HDTV that I used for a monitor in my Winter home in Arizona. I happened to bring it with me to my summer home along with another computer that I own. The other day I happened to use the visio with the other computer and noticed that the picture quality and clarity was so much better. So I decided to switch the visio with my sanyo on my main computer. Thats when I had problems.

Wow what a difference Everything was so large that the task bar was off the screen. And I could not get the screen image smaller so everything fit on the screen. Hmm should it not be the same? Thats when I discovered that my Mint Linux and a few other distro’s were set to the sanyo’s 720P max resolution of 1280 X 720 and this was what was making the difference? When I finally got the problem solved I found I had a lot more resolution settings, clear up to 1900 X xxx. Why the difference? I then discovered the Visio had a 1020P resolution. Problem solved by changing the resolution on all of my Linux Distro’s.I now have a HDTV Monitor that is clearer, has better resolution and color, and will probably be less eye strain for me. Lesson learned, If you switch Monitors you could run into problems like I did if the max resolutions are different. Not all HDTV’s and Monitors are equal just because they are the same size. The resolution makes a big difference when sitting that close to one. The 1020P is better especially with Linux. Even MS Windows noticed the difference.

Mel

About Mel

Retired PC Consultant, Education Certificate Novel Networking installation and configuration. PC Repair Configuration and Networking. Commercial Pilot, Avid RVer. Enjoy Traveling with my Wife in our Travel Trailer. South in the winter Az, Texas, and summers in Utah
This entry was posted in linux, Monitor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

