My 7 Favorite Linux Distros

I have been using Linux off and on since the early 90’s Mostly for something to play with up until about 2004 when I started to get serious about using it. It seems like I have to test just about every new Linux OS (distribution) in Linux Speak or (distro) looking for the perfect one. I have downloaded Hundreds of Distros over the years and burned 1000’s of DVD/CD’s. I am still searching for the perfect Distro. They all have there good and weak points. so here are a list of my Seven Favorite Linux Distro’s.

1. The number one Linux Distro for me is Linux Mint 16 Hands down. It is by far one of the easiest to install and is stable with just about everything that I need. It is based on Debian and Ubuntu. I have used it ever since Ubuntu came out with Unity desktop. The only thing I fault it with is the fact that it uses Ubuntu Repositories instead of its own, And the fact that I cannot use my Tax software on it. Other than that it is almost the perfect Linux Distro for me. I would recommend it to anyone New or Experianced user for everyday use.

2. Debian 7.3 What can I say, It’s been around for a long time and the majority of Distro’s are based on some part of it. It is very stable and secure if set up correctly. It is not cutting edge nor does it use some of the latest Tech. But as the saying goes “Haste makes waste” so even if it is slower adopting some of the newer tech It is still stable and secure.

3. LXLE is based on Lubuntu with a Lxde Desktop. One of the only distro’s to run on my old Toshiba Laptop with out problems. It is Light weight and does not take a lot of resources. Very good distro for older computers and laptops. easy to learn and install. Very nice artwork and wallpaper.

4. Ubuntu 13.10 and 12.04 I have been using Ubuntu ever since it first came out when I dropped Suse in Favor of Ubuntu. I used it for my main distro until Ubuntu came out with the Unity desktop when I switched to Mint. IMHO (in my humble opinion) Ubuntu has done more than any other Linux Distro to advance linux and bring it to the masses. It is still a good Distro and has made great strides in the industry.

5. Bodhi uses the Ubuntu 12.04 LTS (long term support) and the E-17 Enlightenment Desktop. Totally different in its modular type construction using modules. It is different although somewhat buggy and hard at first to get used to. The more I experiment with it the more I like it. It is complicated to set the screen resolution and I fault it for that. A lot of different Icons and things don’t work when clicked on. Stunning Grapics and desktop very configureable. 

6. Suse I used it for many years as my main linux distro. I alsway bought the commercial versions and used it unti about version 10 when I had a major crash and lost 6 months of work. (backup did not work) I then switched to Ubuntu. Never did like RPM package manager even with Yast. I still have fond memories of Suse and still try it out from time to time. But much prefer Apt.

7. Mandrake It was one of my first distro’s successfully installed on my old 386 computer. It is no longer called Mandrake and has forked a couple of times. To me the forkes are not the same as the old Mandrake and it uses RPM so I don’t use it. Still I have fond memories.

I have tried and used many Linux Distro’s Still searching for the perfect (for me) Distro. I have to keep a copy of Windows for my Tax software. Otherwise I would not use Windows 7 at all. I only use it to keep it updated and to do my tax’s.

Mel

About Mel

Retired PC Consultant, Education Certificate Novel Networking installation and configuration. PC Repair Configuration and Networking. Commercial Pilot, Avid RVer. Enjoy Traveling with my Wife in our Travel Trailer. South in the winter Az, Texas, and summers in Utah
This entry was posted in linux and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

