Gmail and Thunderbird Email Client Problems

 

Gmail and Mozilla Thunderbird Email Client

I have used Mozilla Thunderbird Email Client for over 10 years. I have 5 different email address’s and find it is more convenient for me to use a email client instead of web mail which I dislike and only use when I have no other choice. I have used My Gmail account and address for many years with Thunderbird without any problems until the other day when I changed my password in Gmail. That is when my problems began.

It appears that Google mail has a conspiracy against Email Clients and wants control over your email forcing you to use Google mails web mail instead of a email client. They want you to use Web Mail instead of Pop3 or Imap claiming Email clients are unsecure, which is a crock. They claim on their help site that you can use pop3 or imap by going in settings and changing them to use less secure apps for gmail. The problem is you cannot find where to change it so you can use pop3 or Imap. They have made it very very difficult if not impossible to use a email client. I have pop3 enabled in the settings and have followed the directions to restore my gmail to use pop3. No Joy, I have fought this problem for 3 days now and am going to give up on Gmail. I am changing all of my gmail address’s to a yahoo address and am having all my gmail forwarded to the same. As soon as I get all of my newsletters changed to my Yahoo address, I will be dropping Gmail and am thinking of dumping everything Google including Facebook, Twitter, and Picasa.

I have already switched to Pinterest and Photo Bucket for my photos and Social Networking. I will probably switch my blogger accounts to wordpress. I welcome your comments.

Mel

 

About Mel

Retired PC Consultant, Education Certificate Novel Networking installation and configuration. PC Repair Configuration and Networking. Commercial Pilot, Avid RVer. Enjoy Traveling with my Wife in our Travel Trailer. South in the winter Az, Texas, and summers in Utah
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

