Mint 18 Clean Install

I made room on my hard drive that has Mint 17.3 on it as my primary OS. I made 3 partitions, root, swap, and home using Ext4. I booted the computer with the Mint 18 DVD  and installed Mint 18 to the partitions that I made on the hard drive using Gparted. It installed in about 20 minutes, and it recognized all of my hardware. I built this computer 10 years ago and it is still running strong. It has a Gigabyte Mother board, AMD 64 CPU, 4 Gb of ram, a server case with 4 swapable hard drives. I got all of the updates available at that time. I then copied my Thunder Bird and Firefox, along with Documents and Pictures from my Mint 17.3 Home partition. Everything has been working fine until a thunderbird update which I got today. For some reason after I close it I will get a error message saying

“Were Sorry Mozilla Has Crashed” It then gives me a choice of restarting or closing. Other than that everything is working fine so far. I still have my Mint 17.3 to fall back on if Mint 18 Becomes problematic. or develops a serious problem. So far I am pleased with Mint 18 and it appears to run a tad faster. Will write more after I have used it more. I’ve only had it for a week now.

Mel

 

About Mel

Retired PC Consultant, Education Certificate Novel Networking installation and configuration. PC Repair Configuration and Networking. Commercial Pilot, Avid RVer. Enjoy Traveling with my Wife in our Travel Trailer. South in the winter Az, Texas, and summers in Utah
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

