Upgrading Motherboard, CPU, Memory and Case

My computer that I built 11 years ago was starting to show it’s age. I decided that it was time to upgrade. The old computer was running well, but it was old school without any USB 3.0 ports and only had 4 GB of ram, and a AMD Athlon 2.4 Ghz processor.. It was in a heavy steel case with a 500 watt pwr supply, and 7 ea 5.25 external bays of which 4 held swapable hard drive racks, and one held a DVD Burner. I decided it was time to upgrade to a better system. I am not a gamer so I don’t need a fancy Graphics card.

Here is what I wanted. A motherboard that could be ungraded in the future with 3.0 and 3.1 USB ports, FX Plus CPU Socket, 4ea Memory slots that could hold at least 16 GB of ram. HDMI port, and Sub D VGA port. UEFI Bios. Here is what I got.

 
After getting all of the parts that I wanted I started to assemble My upgraded computer. The upgrade went without a hitch and everything worked as intended. Some of you are probably wondering why I wanted a UEFI Bios. Here is why I wanted a GPT Partitioning scheme so that I could have more than 4 Primary Partitions and not have to have a extended  partition. I wanted a Lighter case and I didn’t need 7 External bays. In this build I am only going to have 3 External bays. 1 DVD Burner and 2 swapable hard drive racks. The following are my thoughts after using the new upgraded computer.
 
Asus Motherboard A88XM-A
Pro: Good mid priced Micro ATX Motherboard with all of the features that I wanted.
Cons: The Bios leaves a lot to be desired even with the latest update. The manual does not explain the Bios setting very well and it is a nightmare to navigate. only has one chassis Fan header and one for the cpu.
 
AMD 8A-7600 Kaveri Quad-Core 3.1 Ghz Socket FM2 Plus 65 Watt
Pro: Nice sweet little processor with radeon R7. Easy cooling with only 65 watts. it works good at 3.1 Ghz can be overclocked.
Con: None
 
2ea 4 GB G Skill Ripjaws Memory 2133
Pro: Works good with this Motherboard and CPU Combination.
Con: None
ThermalTake Versa 1 Computer Case.
Pro: Good cheap Case, Good air flow for Cooling, Power Supply bottom mounted, 3 external 5.25 bays. 3.0 and 2.0 USB ports with audio on top
front of case. 
Con: Very thin metal, Flimsy and will bent easy. Still a good case for the money.
Rosewill Fan package (I only used 3)
Pro: Good Price, very quite, no noise, even with all fans running.
Con: None
All in all not a bad deal for under $250 I used my own hard drives and 500 Watt power supply. If I had to do it over I would probably get a GigaByte Motherboard Because of the Problems with the Bios not holding My Boot Order setting. It is a small problem and I can hold down F8 and choose which OS to  boot. It is just a pain and I never had this problem with my GigaByte MoBo.
Mel
 
 
About Mel

Retired PC Consultant, Education Certificate Novel Networking installation and configuration. PC Repair Configuration and Networking. Commercial Pilot, Avid RVer. Enjoy Traveling with my Wife in our Travel Trailer. South in the winter Az, Texas, and summers in Utah
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

