Upgrading my Hard Drives

Since upgrading my computer with a New Motherboard, CPU, Ram, and a ThermalTake Case. I decided that maybe it was time to replace the Sata Hard drives with modern SSD (solid state digital) Disks, which are 30 times faster than the mechanical sata hard drives. The SSD’s are not Hard Drives, But are Disks for those that are Misinformed. SSD’s Unlike Hard drives, have no moving parts at all. No spinning platters or mechanical parts. I bought 2 each Samsung EVo 850 250 GB SSD’s. I also bought a 2 bay IcyDock So I could swap the drives without having to open the case. The IcyDock fit in a 5.25 Drive bay in the computer case. Wow what a difference. Boot up in 7 seconds flat. Everything was faster. After configuring everything and reinstalling my OS’s and software. I found out that you never ever Defragment a SSD Disk. You will wear it out or can ruin it if you do.The newer SSD Disks have there own feature built in to take care of the Maintenance of the Disk, and Samsung has a utility for the same. I might add at this point that I could have transferred all of the Windows 10 OS and any Windows files to the new SSD Disk using a software Utility from Samsung that I downloaded. I used it, but found out it would not Transfer Linux OS and Files. So I went ahead and reinstalled everything With a clean install.

After using the SSD’s for a few days I decided to try something a little different. I still had one of the 500 GB Sata drives in it’s Carrier and dock in the Computer case. So I installed a couple of linux OS’s on it and Quadruple booted from the SSD disk with Grub. Works great. I now had 2 SSD’s in the IcyDock and a sata drive in the Swapable carrier in another 5.25 bay. I also have a HP 17-E 117 DX laptop with Intel i3 cpu and 8 GB ram. It has a sata 750 GB hard drive that only runs at 5400 RPM. It runs Like a turtle, Slow Slow. I decided to swap one of the 250 GB SSD’s with the slow 750 GB Sata drive in the laptop. Both of them Being 2.5 inch they would fit. Another Wow, what a difference. The 4 year old laptop now runs like it should.

I really don’t notice the slow 750 GB hard drive in my main desktop computer because of the amount of ram 16 GB and a 3.1 Ghz Cpu. I only the use the 750 GB sata hard drive to install other OS’s on it for testing Purposes. I could also use it for storage, But I have a 5 Terabyte USB External Hard drive for Storage. Since I only use the laptop when traveling I don’t need a big hard drive or SSD Disk. I don’t use the laptop for anything other than picking up email and doing a little surfing on the net when traveling. The SSD Disks really make a difference. How well they hold up, time will tell. They have a life expectancy of ten years or more if taken care of. I now have in my Main Desktop Computer 1ea 750 GB 2.5 inch Sata Hard Drive In one bay of the IcyDock, 1ea 250 GB SSD in the otherbay of the IcyDock, and 1ea 500 GB 3.5 inch Sata Hard drive in its carrier and swapable dock. I still have 3 other Sata Hard Drives with carriers that I can swap with the 500 GB Sata Drive. Maybe I can Sell the 4ea Sata Hard Drives and get all SSD’s with a 6 place Icy Dock and set up a Raid Array. Nah to much trouble and Money. I really don’t need that.

Mel

About Mel

Retired PC Consultant, Education Certificate Novel Networking installation and configuration. PC Repair Configuration and Networking. Commercial Pilot, Avid RVer. Enjoy Traveling with my Wife in our Travel Trailer. South in the winter Az, Texas, and summers in Utah
This entry was posted in Computers, Laptops and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

